Posted on

GUEST BLOG: DON’T FONDUE IT?

I read a post by my friend here about fusion burritos and my first thought was “That kind of makes me hungry.” I tried a Korean fusion burrito a few weeks ago off of a food cart in downtown Portland  and it was delicious. It does seem though, as Sam said, that one could wrap anything in a tortilla beside something hot, beany, and spicy and call it fusion. But I didn’t come on here to talk about that.

I came here to talk about fondue.

I’ve had fondue a couple of times and thought it was a pretty good snack. My aunt used to make it every Christmas and I’ll have to admit, there is some allure about sharing food out of one pot. I’ve also tried it at the Rheinlander, a longtime fixture of near-east Portland, and it was a great start.

But can someone actually make a meal of this? I understand there is a restaurant here in Portland called The Melting Pot that features fondue. I am sure their offerings are pleasing to the palate but should I bring a sandwich for afterwards? I had to wrap my American mind around this for a second; little morsels of food don’t seem to add up to a meal for me. I thought I hadn’t been wrecked by the way we Americans eat but, wow, have I really been turned off of this fondue thing?

Maybe if we made those bites that we skewer bigger; like the size of an Eggo waffle or something…

Ted Weiss valleyproject.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

